

# CALL FOR PAPERS

## The 25th IEEE/ACM International Conference on AUTOMATED SOFTWARE ENGINEERING (ASE 2010) September 20-24, 2010, Antwerp, Belgium

http://soft.vub.ac.be/ase2010

Software engineering is concerned with the analysis, design, implementation, testing, and maintenance of large software systems. Automated software engineering focuses on how to automate or partially automate these tasks to achieve significant improvements in quality and productivity. ASE 2010 encourages contributions describing basic research, novel applications, and experience reports. In all cases, papers should carefully articulate the relevance of their contributions to the automation of software engineering tasks. Solicited topics include, but are not limited to:

Automated reasoning techniques Component-based systems Computer-supported cooperative work Configuration management Domain modelling and meta-modelling Empirical software engineering Human-computer interaction Knowledge acquisition and management Maintenance and evolution Model-based software development Model-driven engineering and model transformation Modelling language semantics Open systems development Product line architectures Program understanding Program synthesis Program transformation Re-engineering Requirements engineering Specification languages Software architecture and design Software visualization Testing, verification, and validation Tutoring, help, and documentation systems

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) will publish accepted papers in the conference proceedings. In addition, authors of selected papers will be invited to revise and re-submit extended versions of their conference papers for consideration for a special issue of the Journal of Automated Software Engineering, published by Springer. ASE 2010 accepts two categories of Conference Paper submissions:

- **Technical Papers** should describe innovative research in automating software development activities or providing automated support to users engaged in such activities. They should describe a novel contribution to the field and should carefully support claims of novelty with citations to the relevant literature. Where a submission builds upon previous work of the author(s), the novelty of the new contribution must be clearly described with respect to the previous work. Papers should also clearly discuss how the results were validated.
- **Experience Papers** should describe a significant experience in applying automated software engineering technology and should carefully identify and discuss important lessons learned so that other researchers and/or practitioners can benefit from the experience. We are especially interested in experience papers that report on industrial applications of automated software engineering.

Submissions under both categories should not exceed 10 pages in the two-column conference format (see note below) and must be submitted electronically at the URL that will be published on the ASE 2010 website. For guidelines and formatting files see: http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates. Papers submitted to ASE 2010 must not have been previously published and must not be under review for publication elsewhere. Papers must strictly adhere to submission guidelines. Authors are strongly encouraged to explain (in the appropriate place in the submitted paper) the relationship between the submission and any other related work from them, including those under review elsewhere. Papers will be administratively rejected and will not be reviewed if they exceed the 10-page limit or use condensed formatting. All papers that conform to the submission guidelines will be peer-reviewed by the program committee members. At the discretion of the PC, papers might be accepted either as full papers or as short papers. In this last case the camera-ready should be no longer than 4 pages. All accepted short papers will be presented in a poster session.

#### IMPORTANT DATES

Abstract submission:	March 8th, 2010
Paper submission:	March 15th, 2010
Notification of acceptance:	June 7th, 2010
Camera Ready:	July 8th, 2010

PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Jamie Andrews (University of Western Ontario) Elisabetta Di Nitto (Politecnico di Milano)

## PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Sven Apel (University of Passau) Alessandro (Armando DIST, University of Genova) Luciano Baresi (Politecnico di Milano) Tevfik Bultan (University of California, Santa Barbara) Yuanfang Cai (Drexel University) Marsha Chechik (University of Toronto) Vittorio Cortellessa (Università dell'Aquila) Ivica Crnkovic (Mälardalen University) Krzystof Czarnecki (University of Waterloo) Ewen Denney (SGT / NASA Ames) Massimiliano Di Penta (Università del Sannio) Wolfgang Emmerich (UCL) Claudia Ermel (Technische Universität Berlin) Bernd Fischer (University of Southampton) Michael Goedicke (University of Duisburg-Essen) Paul Gruenbacher (Johannes Kepler University Linz) Lars Grunske (Swinburne University of Technology) Robert J. Hall (AT&T Labs Research) Mary Jean Harrold (Georgia Institute of Technology) Mats Heimdahl (University of Minnesota) Reiko Heckel (University of Leicester) John Hosking (University of Auckland) Michael Lowry (NASA Ames) Darko Marinov (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) Tim Menzies (West Virginia University) Alex Orso (Georgia Institute of Technology) Corina Pasareanu (CMU and NASA Ames) Charles Pecheur (UCLouvain) Mauro Pezzé (University of Lugano) Ajitha Rajan (Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble) David Redmiles (University of California, Irvine) Debra Richardson (University of California, Irvine) Beverly Sanders (University of Florida) Yannis Smaragdakis (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) Gabi Taentzer (Philipps-Universität Marburg) Shingo Takada (Keio University) Tetsuo Tamai (The University of Tokyo) Daniel Varro (Budapest Univ. of Technology and Economics) Andrea Zisman (City University London) Albert Zuendorf (University of Kassel)

### EXPERT REVIEW PANEL MEMBERS

Perry Alexander (The University of Kansas) Wing-Kwong Chan (City University of Hong Kong) Phyllis Frankl (Polytechnic Institute of NYU) John Grundy (Swinburne University of Technology) Andrew Ireland (Heriot-Watt University) Jochen M. Kuester (IBM) Yves Ledru (Université de Grenoble-1) Jonathan Maletic (Kent State University) Sandro Morasca (Università dell'Insubria) John Penix (Google) Peri Tarr (IBM) Willem Visser (Stellenbosch University) Tao Xie (North Carolina State University)